Run With the Wind (1966)

27 05 2008

Click here to see the complete movie programme

 

Release date: 20 June 1966 (UK)
Rated NR
Parental Rating: Objectionable for children
Country Of Origin: U.K.
Running Time: 95
Format: Black & White
Genre(s): Drama
Production Co(s).: GEFD

Credits
Director: Lindsay Shonteff
Writer: Jeremy Craig Dryden
Producer: James Ward
Musical director:  Philip Martell
Music: Shawn Phillips


CastRun With the Wind (Francesca and Shawn)

Francesca Annis: Jean Parker
Sean Caffrey: Frank Hiller
Shawn Phillips: Paul Walton
Jack Smethurst: Bernie
George Pastell: Lennie
Sheena Campbell: Sue
Mark York: Tony
Leslie Lawton: Steve

 
Synopsis
Overly sentimental tear-jerker in which Annis leaves her boxer lover when blond-haired folk singer Phillips tickles her imagination with promises of a different life style. Annis tires of Phillips and heads back to her old beau, but by this time he wants no part of her.
 

Posters:
Click to enlarge    Click to enlarge


Actions

Information

11 responses

28 05 2008
Webmaster

Fact about Shawn and Francesca:

In those days, Shawn was his partner in life for about 3 years. In an interview, she acknowledges:

‘I was one of the matching hat, handbag and gloves brigade’. But an affair with American folk singer Shawn Phillips transformed the dolly bird into a hippie chick.

Phillips, whose British debut single Hey Nelly Nelly unaccountably failed to make the Top 10, introduced Francesca to the rock ‘n’ roll milieu. ‘I turned my back on my conservative, Catholic values. I became an urban indulgee.’

16 10 2008
TONY

was this film ever released on dvd?
a friend of mine was in a group called hedgehoppers anonymous called mike tinsley and he said he appeared in this movie?

16 10 2008
Webmaster

Hi Tony,

Unfortunately this movie has never been released on VHS or DVD.
If I remember well, I think Arlo Hennings (Shawn’s manager) asked to the movie company for a copy and they wanted too much money for it.

What was your friend role in the movie?

16 10 2008
Webmaster

If someone has this movie on tape somewhere, please let me know.

14 05 2012
Lynne

I have a photo promo shot of the scene of her touching his chin in bed, bought it in the 80’s as it looked interesting, only now found it and googled it, shame i cannot see the move it comes from 😦

16 05 2012
Jean Boissonneault

Great, Could you send me a digital version of it to be shown here for all Shawn’s fans?

25 11 2008
TONY

I run a website for Mike Tinsley he was in a band in the 60’s called Hedgehopper’s Anonnymous they had a hit with a song called “Good News Week”
and he told me that he appeared in this film maybe with the band. so thats why i ended up looking for this film and finding your website, Mike’s website is http://www.miketinsley.co.uk
Thanks for answering my question
All the best
Tony

29 03 2011
FRAN

Hi there, I am trying to track down a copy of this film desperately. Can you let me know who I can ask in order to try to retrieve one?

2 04 2011
Webmaster

Once, I think, Shawn’s manager asked to the movie company to get a copy but they asked way too much money for it.

30 03 2011
FRAN

Can you help me to get a copy of the movie poster?

2 04 2011
Webmaster

I copied this image from a site that sold it on the Internet some years ago. I didn’t get it because of the high cost. Google it, maybe you will be lucky.

Leave a comment