Serendipity Peace

23 04 2008

Oh if life could be like a merry-go-round
I’d ride it all over again
and all I’d find was the peace of mind
I’d known when I was younger in sin

Won’t you take me ahead to the future of man
to see what becomes of us all
and I don’t think I’ll cry if’n we’re not alive
it will be through no fault of God’s

and the saving grace of a Marlin’s break
is an insight that’s so good to know
and the sun makes diamonds all over the water
and off in the distance is snow

on the bitter cold crags of a mountain’s face
I waited for something to feel
and the breathing of love
came and fostered my brow
and left serendipity peace

and the time for playing is virtually over
it cannot continue for long
so people of terra, the loved and unsung ones
beware the direction is wrong

but the fear is not such a comical trial
it ebbs and it flows with our souls
and it comes and it’s greater or less in volume
it depends on what you love the most


Actions

Information

2 responses

22 03 2009
Shawn Phillips

One of these days, I’m going to relearn this song and do it on stage again. Lyrics edge very close to the breakthrough point of transformation of consciousness.

2 04 2009
sekanblogger

One of my personal favorites Shawn. Your comment makes me think something that I’ve always wondered about, that is, your lyrics many times make me think you are writing about ‘cosmic consiousness’. I read the book by Dr. Bucke when I was a teenager and have been intrigued with the concept since.
Tracy Phillips

Leave a Reply

