Coal Tattoo (Billy Ed Wheeler)

19 04 2008
Travellin’ down that coal town road
Listen to my rubber tires whine
Goodbye the buckeye and white sycamore
I’m leavin’ you behind
Oh well I’ve been a coal man all my life
Laid down track and all
Got a back like an ironwood bent by the wind
Blood veins blue as the coal
Blood veins blue as the coal

Somebody said that’s a strange tattoo
You have on the side of your head
I said, that’s the mark of the number nine coal
A little more and I’d be dead
Oh well I love the rumble and I love the dark
I love the cool of the slate
But it’s goin’ down that new road alookin’ for a job
This travellin’ and lookin’ I hate
This travellin’ and lookin’ I hate

Well I stood for the union, walked in the line
Fought against the company
I stood for the U M W of A
Now who’s gonna stand for me
Well I got no job and I got no pay
Just got a worried soul
And this blue tattoo on the side of my head
Left by the number nine coal
Left by the number nine coal

Well someday when I die and go
To Heaven the land of my dreams
I won’t have to worry on losin’ my job
The bad times and big machines
Well I got no home and I got no pay
Just got a worried soul
And this blue tattoo on the side of my head
Left by the number nine coal
Left by the number nine coal


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

