Take the Day (2005)

13 11 2008

I have lived a life of leisure,
I have rendered unto Ceaser,
I have spent some days in a total craze and I just can’t find the reason,
but I’ll make my path through the world of wrath, and I’ll find me some cohesion
but along the way, I have to say, I know that we are legion

Take the Day
To the shadowed ground of chaos, Alabama to south Laos,
we have seen the ragged fury, of humanity, and it’s usury,
inflicted on the masses with a sense of utter crassness,
by men without a vision, who never feel contrition,
abandoning compassion for the sake of shallow fashion,
senseless intervention, in a world too poor to mention,
with a silent apprehension, in the simplest convention,
in a way of life without much strife, and a modest malintention,
can we find the tools and make some rules as to who gets all the bounty,

Take The Day

I have seen the face of wonder, I have shivered in the thunder,
I have felt the pain under evils gain, and it’s rent my life asunder,
but I’ll rise above with the help of love, and my friends of many colors,
but along the way I have to say, there are so many others,

Take the day

There is calibrated madness, in the mind of all fanatics,
and God’s not great when he’s used with hate, to kill with vicious tactics,
and a faith is interrupted, a religion full corrupted,
by jealous men and cowards, killing children by the hundreds,
who have no choice of living, by beings unforgiving,
who live in rage, want to change the age, and make our lives a misery,
to make us live their visions, theological collisions,
and you got no choice, and you can’t rejoice, in the joy of simply living,
but I have to say, that’s not the way God wants us to behave,

Now Take The Day

Nobody’s gonna call me honey, for my multitudes of money,
I don’t do coke, but I’m still broke, and I sing to all and sundry,
for 40 years I’ve shed my tears, and tried to make it funny,
but along the way, I’m glad to say, I’ve made it more than sunny,

Take The Day

Soon the energy is waneing, but the mind is set on gaining,
if we stop the war waged on the poor, we might have some acclaiming,
and the practice of collusion, might we stop this vile intrusion,
and I see some emendation, for the rules of any nation,
are in order for the future, as to how and when we use her,
this tiny earth, of shallow girth, will never be a loser,
and winning is a concept, that rules our very mindset,
an epiphany of mercy, that urgently concerns me,
we have to say, that loves the way, to stop this
bloody mayhem,

Take The Day

Dedicated to the memory of Theo Coetzee


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

